Your interactive family guide to Spain as recommended by local mums | Last updated 7 months ago

Moving to Spain

Public Holidays in Spain

Dont be caught out by the Public Holidays (Fiesta Nacional) in Spain. Puentes (Bridges) are likely if a public holiday falls on a Thursday or a Tuesday ie it is likely that the Friday and Monday will also be a holiday. Hospitals remain open as do restaurants but shops and museums will most likely be closed.
Remember each autonomous community has their own Holidays.

  • Public Holidays in Spain 2012

    Public Holidays January til March

    New Years Day (Año Nuevo) is on Sunday, January 01, 2012
    Three Kings Day (Dia de los Reyes) is on Friday, January 06, 2012
    St Joseph’s Day ( San José (Día del Padre) ) is on Monday, March 19, 2012

    Public Holidays April til June

    Maundy Thursday ( Jueves Santo ) is on Thursday, April 05, 2012
    Good Friday ( Viernes Santo ) is on Friday, April 06, 2012
    Easter Monday ( Lunes de Pascua de Resurrección ) is on Monday, April 09, 2012
    Labour Day ( Fiesta del Trabajo ) is on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

    Public Holidays August til September

    Assumption of the Virgin ( Asunción de la Virgen ) is on Wednesday, August 15, 2012

    Public Holidays October til December

    National day of Spain ( Día Nacional de España ) is on Friday, October 12, 2012
    All Saints day ( Todos los Santos ) is on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    Day of the Spanish constitution ( Día de la Constitución España ) is on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    Immaculate conception ( Inmaculada Concepción ) is on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    Christmas Day ( Natividad del Señor ) is on Tuesday, December 25, 2012